Running Form Coaching – pt 2

I had my second session at the Running School today.

Let me start by saying that I can totally FEEL how my right glute is incredibly weak at the moment. Doing last week’s homework ( a series of activation exercises and some single lef squats) made me super sore! CRAZY! And I workout a lot, but when you isolate the muscle you can really feel where the trouble is.

Anyway, let’s go back to the session.  After some warm up, I was taught how to actually climb into a treadmill to avoid wasting time while it reaches proper speed (found a video which explains it here)

This was followed by loads of drills (30-60 seconds each) where the goal was to exagerate the correct running form: using my glutes as the main muscle to lift my feet up. I had to reach my butt with my ankles, which immediately makes you step closer .y

You can see the difference of how spread out my knees were:

IMG_2296

Arms close to the body and hands up to the chin. This drill was repeated several times, on incline, faster and slower speeds until I started to feel confortable.

The idea is that I need to re-wire my brain so it will start using the glutes to run and so on. It was quite hard, I was actually sweating! You need to keep going through a mental check-list (posture, feet, hands) every 5 seconds.

Afterwards, I had a few more drills where the posture went a bit more relaxed, but still thinking about driving my run through glutes.

The session finished with some more exercises, and moving my homework now to include this one:

Captura de Tela 2017-07-05 às 11.32.13.png

If you want to activate your glutes before a run, make sure you read part 1 of this series and do this exercises too! 2 series of 10 reps with each leg and you’re good to go!

Can’t wait to see if I can really transform my running form in 6 sessions!

Leave a Reply

